Middlesbrough chooses its top 10 reads

04 Oct 2017
Bear Hunt BookBench

The results are in for Middlesbrough's top 10 reads! Since July, people across Middlesbrough have been voting, online and in local libraries, for their top 10 favourite children's books. They were asked to choose from the Middlesbrough 100 Reads list, which is a list of 100 children's books created as part of our Middlesbrough Reading Campaign.

 The votes have been counted and the top 10 reads are:

1. We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen

2. The Tiger Who Came to Tea by Judith Kerr

3. The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson

4. Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell

5. The BFG by Roald Dahl

6. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

7. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

8. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon

9. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

10. Holes by Louis Sachar

The top 10 titles will be immortalised on BookBenches, which will be displayed across Middlesbrough in community hubs and libraries. 

Middlesbrough children are invited to take part in creative workshops to help design and decorate the benches. Children of all ages are welcome and there is no need to book a place.

Middlesbrough Central Library workshops are taking place on:

  • Tuesday 10 October - 3.30 - 4.45pm
  • Tuesday 17 October - 3.30 - 4.45pm
  • Tuesday 7 November - 3.30 - 4.45pm
  • Tuesday 14 November - 3.30 - 4.45pm
  • Tuesday 21 November - 3.30 - 4.45pm
North Ormesby Community Hub workshops are taking place on:
  • Thursday 12 October - 5.15 - 6.45pm
  • Thursday 19 October - 5.15 - 6.45pm
  • Thursday 2 November - 5.15 - 6.45pm
  • Thursday 9 November - 5.15 - 6.45pm
  • Thursday 16 November - 5.15 - 6.45pm