Skip to content

We use necessary cookies that allow our site to work. We also set optional cookies that help us improve our website.

For more information about the types of cookies we use, and to manage your preferences, visit our Cookies policy here.

Cookie settings


The National Literacy Trust is governed by our board of trustees, who come from a range of sector backgrounds. Trustees are responsible for the governance, strategic direction, general management and control of the charity and for the appointment of the Chief Executive.

Joanna_Prior Cropped.jpg

Joanna Prior (Chair)

Our board of trustees is chaired by Joanna Prior. Joanna is CEO of Pan Macmillan, and prior to that was Managing Director of Penguin General Books, one of nine publishing houses at Penguin Random House, for 12 years. She is a past President of The Publishers Association and was also Chair of the Women’s Prize for Fiction, until she stepped down in February 2022.

Lara White photo small

Lara White (Treasurer)

Lara White (Treasurer) is a Chartered Tax Advisor and the Tax Director at Vitruvian Partners.

Matthew Bradbury

Matthew Bradbury

Matthew Bradbury is Chief Executive of Nene Park Trust, an independent charity responsible for a portfolio of assets including culture, heritage, arts, sports and the environment. He also holds a number of non-executive roles including Director of University College, Peterborough and Chair of the Peterborough Towns Deal Board.

Kersten England

Kersten England CBE

Kersten England was a local authority Chief Executive for 14 years, initially in York and then in Bradford, until she stepped down in 2023. She has a wealth of experience in place-based work, and is passionate about breaking the cycle of deprivation, and seeing communities on the ground telling their stories. Kersten has also served on the advisory body of the Bradford Literature Festival as well as being chair of the Young Foundation.

ben fletcher resized.jpg

Ben Fletcher

Ben Fletcher is Chief Financial Officer at Shop Direct, and a board member of the British Retail Consortium. Prior to that he held senior roles at Clarks, Boots Opticians and Boots UK.

Rachel Hopcroft

Rachel Hopcroft

Rachel Hopcroft is Head of Corporate Affairs at KPMG UK and part of the company's Executive Committee. Prior to this, she was a senior civil servant, including as Principal Private Secretary to the Cabinet Secretary in No. 10. She is a former Chair and patron group member of Access Accountancy, a charity that seeks to widen access to the accounting profession, as well as a member of the board for the Alliance to End Malnutrition and Hunger Limited and the steering group of the FTSE Women Leaders Review.

Hilary Ineomo Marcus

Hilary Ineomo-Marcus

Hilary Ineomo-Marcus is a former National Prison Radio producer who now volunteers for charities in an effort to deter young people from offending. Since his release in 2014, Hilary has forged a career in media and broadcasting and has presented radio programmes, TV documentaries and podcasts for brands such as the BBC, Amazon Audible and ITN News Production.

Natasha Kizzie

Natasha Kizzie

Natasha Kizzie is Industry Manager at Google. She joined the company in March 2018 having been Director of Marketing and Communications at the National Citizen Service since 2013.

Michelle Money

Professor Michelle Money

Michelle Money is CEO of the University of Wolverhampton Multi Academy Trust, and has over 30 years’ experience of school and education leadership. She has led teacher training at both Staffordshire University and the University of Wolverhampton, and as a research professor has written and published extensively.

clare wood resize

Professor Clare Wood

Clare Wood is professor of psychology at Nottingham Trent University. Her research interests include the early identification and remediation of literacy difficulties in children, the relationships between spoken and written language skills, and the educational potential of technology.