Marcus Rashford Book Club

Added 07 Oct 2021

Introducing the book club

The Marcus Rashford Book Club is a reader-recommends programme created by England International footballer and child food poverty campaigner Marcus Rashford MBE and Macmillan Children’s Books.

The book club aims to encourage and nurture a love of reading in children, and launched in June 2021 with its first title, A Dinosaur Ate My Sister by Pooja Puri, illustrated by Allen Fatimaharan.

The second title in the book club is Silas and the Marvellous Misfits, written and illustrated by Tom Percival, published on 14 October 2021. The book helps children to love their differences and discover the joy of being themselves.

Classroom resources

Silas and the Marvellous Misfits cover.jpg

We have partnered with the publisher Pan Macmillan to create exclusive materials to accompany the latest book in the Marcus Rashford Book Club. These resources are suitable for teachers in years 2, 3 and 4, and are free for all teachers to download and use.

Plus, not every child needs a copy of Silas and the Marvellous Misfits to take part - the activities are all based around chapter 1, which is printed in the children’s activity pack.

On this page you can access:

  • A children’s activity pack for every child in your class, full of high-quality activities
  • A teacher’s pack with three exciting lesson plans, an overview of the book and curriculum links
  • All three videos from the author Tom Percival to support each of the lessons
  • A printable poster for the classroom

Downloadable materials can be accessed from the available files list on this page.


Watch now as author and illustrator Tom Percival introduces the Marcus Rashford Book Club.

What makes you amazing?

Here, Tom asks children to think about what makes them special, and explains how important it is to be yourself.

Best dream ever!

Now, Tom sets a challenge for children to imagine what amazing and wonderful things they would like to see in their own dreams.