Skip to content

We use necessary cookies that allow our site to work. We also set optional cookies that help us improve our website.

For more information about the types of cookies we use, and to manage your preferences, visit our Cookies policy here.

Cookie settings

Rugby Reading Champions

Leicester Tigers

Rugby Reading Champions helps children aged 9 to 11 improve their reading skills with exciting rugby-themed lessons.

About the programme

Rugby Reading Champions is a reading intervention that improves the reading skills and attitude towards reading of pupils aged 9-11 who are not meeting expected levels.

Across 10 weeks, pupils will learn core reading comprehension skills, and improve their reading confidence, enjoyment of reading and motivation to read. They'll be guided through a series of lessons based around the five core values of rugby: teamwork, respect, enjoyment, discipline and sportsmanship.

What schools get

  • Lessons delivered by rugby coaches

    Rugby coaches who have been trained by National Literacy Trust professionals to deliver the programme will run 10 sessions with your class.

  • Books

    Every school will get a box full of great books for students which cover rugby and other topics, including titles like Rugby Academy: Combat Zone by Tom Palmer, Chasing the Rugby Dream by James Hook and Rugby Spirit by Gerard Siggins.

  • Classroom materials

    Pupils will be given engaging branded materials when they take part in the programme including a workbook, posters, stickers, bookmarks and more.

Rugby balls

Where is the programme being delivered?

A pilot of the programme was delivered until the end of 2020 in two areas in England where literacy problems are seriously impacting people’s lives. The first pilot areas are Leicester and Sale, where we trained rugby coaches from Leicester Tigers Foundation and Sale Sharks to deliver the programme in local schools.

In April 2023, coaches were trained at the Rugby League team, Hull Kingston Rovers, to support raising literacy attainment in the area.

Email us at to work with us.