Skip to content

We use necessary cookies that allow our site to work. We also set optional cookies that help us improve our website.

For more information about the types of cookies we use, and to manage your preferences, visit our Cookies policy here.

Cookie settings

The School Library Commission


The School Library Commission chaired by Baroness Estelle Morris was a joint initiative between The Museums, Libraries and Archives Council (MLA) and the National Literacy Trust in 2010. It aimed to set a national agenda to ensure school libraries deliver exceptional services to help young people reach their potential.

Between February and March 2010 the Commission ran an open call for evidence and requested schools, local authorities, education professionals and any organisation or individual with an interest in the future of school libraries submit their views and ideas.

During the consultation period the Commission received 96 submissions to the open call for evidence. Further information was gathered through a roundtable discussion with key stakeholders, focus groups for head teachers, teachers, school librarians and pupils, plus a quantitative attitudinal survey of 17 thousand pupils.

Baroness Estelle Morris was joined by commissioners Peter Wanless, Chief Executive of the Big Lottery Fund; Jean Gross, Government Communication Champion; Catherine Blanshard, Chief Officer of Libraries, Arts and Heritage for Leeds City Council; Karen Tyerman, MLA board member, Director for Community Learning Kensington and Chelsea; Martin Cooper Deputy Head Teacher, Mile Oak Primary School, Brighton and Stephen Shields Chief Executive, SHINE Trust.

Back to top