Andy McNab opens Ruth Rendell Award nominations for next UK literacy champion

25 Apr 2017
Ruth Rendell

Bestselling author and former SAS soldier Andy McNab has opened nominations for the Ruth Rendell Award for the author or writer who has done the most to champion literacy in the past year.

 In memory of the novelist Ruth Rendell, we launched the award in 2017 along with the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS). McNab won the inaugural Ruth Rendell Award for his tireless championing of literacy, travelling the length and breadth of the UK to encourage reluctant readers to take up the challenge of reading.

We are calling on schools, charities, libraries, booksellers and individuals to nominate an author or writer who they believe has had a significant influence on literacy in the UK in the past year. The closing date for entries is 30 July 2017.

I was incredibly proud to receive the inaugural Ruth Rendell Award last year. Had it not been for the education I received from the army as a 17-year-old, when I had the literacy skills of a 9-year-old, I wouldn’t be where I am today. Receiving this award gave me even more incentive to get out there and make sure as many people as possible are helped to change their lives through literacy. If you believe an author or writer has gone above and beyond to champion literacy in the past year, give them the recognition they deserve by nominating them for the Ruth Rendell Award.

Andy McNab

For a second year running, the judging panel will be chaired by Jonathan Douglas, Director of the National Literacy Trust, and will comprise writer Jonathan Fryer, an ALCS board member, Sue Wilkinson, Chief Executive of The Reading Agency and Ginny Lunn, CEO of Beanstalk.

This award is a wonderful tribute to Ruth Rendell, who was a much-loved author and a powerful advocate for literacy. We can’t wait to go through the nominations and reflect on all the fantastic work being done by authors and writers throughout the UK to champion literacy.

Jonathan Douglas, Director of the National Literacy Trust

We’re thrilled to be continuing our support of such a fitting tribute to Ruth Rendell. Ruth herself was such a champion of literacy and this award will serve to highlight the fantastic work being done by other authors in this area.

Barbara Hayes, Deputy Chief Executive of ALCS

The Ruth Rendell Award will be presented at a ceremony at the House of Commons on 5 December 2017 as part of the All Party Parliamentary Writers Group Winter Reception.