Ruth Rendell Award 2019

Cressida Cowell, Ruth Rendell

About the Ruth Rendell Award

Ruth Rendell

The Ruth Rendell Award was launched in 2016 by the National Literacy Trust and the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) in honour of the author Ruth Rendell, who tirelessly championed literacy throughout her lifetime and supported the National Literacy Trust since its foundation in 1993.

Andy McNab won the inaugural award in 2016 and Cressida Cowell won the 2017 award.

We are calling on schools, charities, libraries, booksellers and individuals to nominate an author or writer who they believe has had a significant influence on literacy in the UK in the past year.

The prestigious judging panel for the 2019 award comprises:

  • Jonathan Douglas - Director, National Literacy Trust
  • Di Redmond - ALCS Board Member
  • Ginny Lunn - CEO, Coram Beanstalk
  • Marion Gillooly - Executive Director, The Dollywood Foundation UK.

The award will be announced at the All Party Writers Group Winter Reception at the House of Commons on 3 December 2019.

How to make a nomination

Submit your nomination by completing the form below. You can nominate more than one person but you will need to fill out the form each time.

The deadline for nominations is 30 September 2019.

Nomination form